Because the initial position is symmetrical there are only three distinct first moves: a3-b4, c3-b4, and c3-d4.

In Brettspiele der Völker, Lasker gives names to several openings:[1]

The Hague opening

1. c3-b4  a5xc3
2. b2xd4  ...

Black can continue with g5-f4 or c5-b5.

The Berlin defence

1. c3-d4 e5xc3
2. b2xd4 c5-b4

Black can also play d6-e5.

The Wing gambit[2]

1. a3-b4  c5xa3
2. e3-d4  ...

  1. ^ Emanuel Lasker: Brettspiele der Völker (Board Games of the Nations), Berlin: August Scherl, 1931.
  2. ^ Peter Billam: Laska - Openings,